IN THIS ARTICLE

Overview

Policies

User roles that the policies apply to

Applications Policies

Projects, Tasks and Time Entries Policies

Time Tracking Policies

Timer Policies


Overview

The Tracking Policies section is located in the main menu, in the Manage section.


Features

Policies

Roles: Admin | Paid Feature

With Tracking Policies, you can specify your own rules to make sure that your timesheet data is always consistent.

How to enable Policies:

  1. In Manage > Tracking Policies, enable the policies that you want to apply and click Save at the bottom.


User roles that the policies apply to

You can specify which user roles policies should apply to. The following options are available:

  • Apply to admins, project managers and co-workers.

  • Apply to project managers and co-workers.

  • Apply to co-workers


Applications Policies


You can require team members to install the browser extension to track time from external apps such as Asana, Trello, Basecamp, Monday, etc.


Projects, Tasks and Time Entries Policies

You can customize the requirements for your projects, tasks and time entries. Currently, the following policy options are available:

  • Customer required: If enabled, projects are always required to have a customer. This policy applies when adding or editing projects and time entries.

  • Project required: If enabled, tasks are always required to be linked to an existing project. This policy applies when adding or editing tasks and time entries.

  • Task required: If enabled, time entries are always required to be linked to an existing task. This policy applies when adding or editing a time entry.

  • Notes required: If enabled, time entries are always required to have a note. This policy applies when adding or editing a time entry.


Time Tracking Policies

You can avoid or allow your team member to edit time entries by selecting this options:

  • Avoid tracking overtime: If enabled, the estimated time of a project or task cannot be exceeded. This policy applies when adding or updating time entries as well as when tracking time in real-time using the timer.

  • Tracking days threshold in the past: If enabled, you can specify the time period in days, in which users are allowed to manually add or edit time entries in the past (1, 5, 15, 30 days) You can lock time entries.

  • Tracking days threshold in the future: If enabled, you can specify the time period in days, in which users are allowed to manually add or edit time entries in the future (1, 7, 30 days, 1 year). You can lock time entries.

  • Temporary edit access: In case a member of your team needs to edit time entries in the past, you can grant them temporary edit access to do so for a two-week period. You can revoke their edit access at any time.


Timer Policies

To prevent team members from forgetting their timers running idle you can automatically stop them if they match the following criteria:

  • Auto stop a timer that has been running idle more than x hours: If enabled, idle timers will be automatically stopped.

  • Automatically stop timers x minutes after the user's clock out time.

Did this answer your question?