IN THIS ARTICLE
The fastest way to start tracking your work time is by simply clicking on the Play button.
If you just want to start tracking your work time, and not have this time assigned to any task or project, simply click on the Play Button at the top right corner of your screen, and then press Start.
A time entry will be created, and you can later assign a task and a project to it.
Start tracking from the main timer
You have several options to start tracking.
If you’re going to start working on an existing task or project, you can use the two-step selector.
At the top, you will see your recent activity, and at the bottom, all of your projects.
You could also create a Project and a Task right from the Timer:
To start tracking a new project, type the name and then click on "+New Project".
After creating the new project, you will be able to add tasks to it.
Just click on "+New Task" to add one.
Track a task
You can only track tasks that have been assigned to you.
To track a task from your tasks list, just hover the task and the Play Button will appear.
Track a project
Click on the Play button next to a project's name to track said project. You can only track projects that have been assigned to you.
If you track a project, an empty task will be created within that project.
⚠️ Important: You will not be able to visualize tasks names, in your Timesheets reports, if you only track projects.
Continue tracking a recent activity
If you've already tracked a task, and you want to keep tracking time for it, instead of looking for it in your projects' list you can go to the Hours tab and press the Play button, directly from the time entry.
Just hover the time entry and the Play Button will appear.
Can I track multiple tasks at the same time?
Unfortunately, no. When using the live timer you can only track one task at a time.
However, you can manually add several time entries for the same period of time.
Set notifications to help you track
: all roles | Free Feature
How to set up time tracking notifications:
Under Notify Me, you will see the following time notification options:
When I’m not tracking: A desktop/browser notification will appear every 30 minutes to remind you that you’re currently not tracking any tasks.
About what I’m tracking: A desktop/browser notification will appear every 30 minutes while you’re actively tracking a task to make sure you’re tracking the correct task.
With updates about projects, tasks and comments: Get notified every time one of your projects or tasks gets updated.
A task time is exceeded: Get notified if you ever exceed the estimated time assigned to your tasks.
A project time is exceeded: Get notified if you ever exceed the estimated time assigned to your projects.
Set policies to help you track
: admins | Paid Feature
You can set your own rules to make sure that your time tracking is always consistent.
For example, you could automatically stop a team member's forgotten running timer, using Policies.
Learn how to set up time tracking Policies here.