Policies allow you to specify your own rules to make sure that your timesheet data is always consistent.
For instance if your employee's often forget to add a project to their tasks you can set the rule that "all tasks must have a project" assigned or if you don't want your employees to track more hours than the estimated then you can "prevent them from tracking time in tasks that have exceeded the time budget".
How to enable policies
Install the add-on in your Manage > Add ons section and then custom the policies settings. Please note that you need to be set up as an account administrator to activate this feature. You can enable and disable policies at any time as required.
Currently, the following policy options are available:
Customer required: If enabled, projects are always required to have a customer. This policy applies when adding or editing a project.
Project required: If enabled, tasks are always required to be linked to an existing project. This policy applies when adding or editing a task.
Task required: If enabled, time entries are always required to be linked to an existing task. This policy applies when adding or editing a time entry.
Notes required: If enabled, time entries are always required to have a note. This policy applies when adding or editing a time entry.
Avoid tracking overtime: If enabled, the estimated time of a project or task cannot be exceeded. This policy applies when adding or updating time entries as well as when tracking time in real-time using the timer.
Tracking days threshold: If enabled, you can specify the time period in days, in which users are allowed to manually add or edit time entries in the past. You can lock time entries. For instance, if you select a tracking days threshold of 7 days, your users won't be allowed to add or edit time entries dated more than 7 days ago.
Additionally, you can specify to which user roles policies should apply. The following options are available:
Apply to admins
Apply to project managers
Apply to co-workers
❗ If a policy is broken, a red message will be displayed to the user asking to add the required fields of information.