IN THIS ARTICLE

Overview

Add a task

Assign tasks

Mark a task as done

Delete a task

Edit tasks in batch

Attachments

Subtasks

Comments

Overview

The Tasks section contains:

  1. Main pane: shows your assigned tasks.

  2. Header right side controls:

    Sort: arrange tasks by priority, date, project, client or closed.

    Add task: add a new task, add multiple tasks, add tasks' due dates to your calendar.

🎬 Watch Task Management video tutorial


Features

Add a task

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

Tasks are how you break down your work and track your team's hours in TrackingTime. They can live on their own or within a specific project.

How to add a new task:

Simply click on the + Add Task button or, on the "+" button at the upper corner of the screen and select Task.

These are the task basic details :

  • Assignees: the team members that have this task assigned,

  • Project and Task list: the project and task list the task belongs to.

  • Estimated Time: the amount of hours required to complete this task.

  • Due Date: the date by when the task should be completed.

  • Mark as Billable: specify whether the task should be marked as billable or not (requires the money mode add on enabled).

  • Hourly Rate: if the task is billable, then you can enter an hourly rate for it (requires the money mode add on enabled) .

💡Tip: add extra fields of information to your tasks using Custom Fields.

⚠️ limits: tasks' names can be up to 500 characters long and names are not unique.


Assign tasks

Assign a task to a single user

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

How to assign a task to a single user:

  1. Click on the user selector

  2. Select the user

  3. Click save

Assign a task to multiple users

Roles: all roles | Paid Feature

How to assign multiple users to a task:

  1. Open the user selector.

  2. Click on the plus sign on the right of the user name.

  3. Repeat with each user you want to assign.

  4. Click Save.

💡Tip: If you click on the users' name, then the assignee will be replaced, instead of added.

Assign a task to Everyone

Roles: Admin, Project Manager | Paid Feature

How to assign a task to everyone

  1. Open the user selector.

  2. Click on "Everyone in this project"

  3. Click Save.

⚠️ Important: If the project is public: then everyone from your workspace will be able to visualize the task. If your project is private, all users with access to the project will be able to visualize and edit the task.

Assign tasks to Nobody

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

You can leave tasks unassigned. Just enter the task name and assign the users later.


Mark a task as done

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

You can mark it as done to get it out of your way. When you mark a task as done you can no longer track time against it. However, you can re-open tasks anytime as needed.

How to mark a task as done:

  • Click on the task you want to mark as done. The task detail pane will appear on the right side of the screen. Click on the task menu button (…) and select Mark as done; or

  • Simply click on the icon to the left of the task's name.


Delete a task

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

How to delete a task:

  1. Select the task you want to delete. The task detail pane will appear on the right side of the screen.

  2. Click on the task menu button (…) and select ‘Delete’.

  3. A confirmation pop-up will appear. Click on ‘’Delete’ to permanently remove this task from your account.

💡 Tip: You can also right click on a task and select Delete from the drop down menu.

⚠️ Important: When you delete a task all associated time entries will also be deleted. and those hours will be also subtracted from the project. This action cannot be undone.


Edit tasks in batch

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

How to delete multiple tasks at the same time:

  1. Hold CTRL or CMD and select your tasks by clicking on them.

  2. A bar menu will appear at the bottom of your screen, displaying options.

  3. Select Delete, Edit or Duplicate.


Attachments

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

Add documents, images, videos and screen captures to collaborate with others in your team, or for your self organization. You can attach them to your tasks, comments and hours.

Attach files to tasks

Adding files to a task helps you collaborate with your team, by adding extra information. You can upload as many files as you need.

How to attach a file to a task:

  1. Select a task in the Main Pane

  2. In the Task detail pane click "Attachments"

  3. Select the file from your computer.

How to delete a file:

  1. Hover the thumbnail

  2. Click remove.

⚠️ Important: All users assigned to the task will be able to see the files.

Attach files to comments

When adding a comment to a task, you can upload a file to help your team with their current assignment.

How to attach a file to a tasks' comment:

  1. Select a task in the Main Pane

  2. Click on Comment

  3. Select the Attachment icon

  4. Click on Add to save.

How to delete a file:

  1. Hover the thumbnail

  2. Click remove.

Attach files to a Time entry

You can also add files to your time entries.

How to attach a file to a time entry:

  1. Go to Hours

  2. Select a time entry

  3. Click on "Add File".

How to delete a file:

  1. Hover the thumbnail

  2. Click remove.


Subtasks

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

Subtasks are always associated to a specific task. These are very helpful for when you’re working on a big task, and you want to break it down into smaller, achievable goals.

How to create subtasks:

  1. Click on a task. The task detail pane will appear on the right side of the screen.

  2. Click on "+ add subtask"

How delete subtasks:

  1. Click on a subtask, and erase its name.

  2. Hit Enter or click anywhere on your screen.

📝 Note: You can mark subtasks as open or closed, by ticking them using the green button next to their names.

⚠️ Important: Currently, tracking time against subtasks is not supported.


Comments

Roles: all roles | Free Feature

Task comments allow to you to keep all conversations around your tasks, in one place and in context. Every user who has permission to view a given task is also allowed to leave a comment.

How to add a comment:

  1. First, select the task, and choose the information tab.

  2. Click on ‘Comment’.

  3. Fill the text box with your comment.

  4. Select the team members who should receive it.

  5. Click send.

💡 Tip: Notify people via email about your new comment. Select from the list, which users should receive an email notification, so they don't miss anything!


Did this answer your question?